Leadership is one of the key attributes we strive to cultivate in our boys at St Benedict’s because every boy is a leader in his own right. While this is so, there is a need for boys who will lead sports and cultural teams as well as the school in line with the ethos and vision of St Benedict’s College. On the 28th of September, the 2023 captains and leaders were inducted at a special assembly. Joined by proud parents, the St Benedict’s board of governors and anxious boys; the group of Gr 11 boys cheered at the announcement of their captains and leaders. This is testament to the effectiveness of the democratic approach taken in the selection of leaders which ensures buy-in as well as an early introduction to the power of one’s vote.

The School Chaplain, Fr Thabo Mothabi, blessed the 23 captains and leaders, admonishing them to show compassion and kindness as they lead and to adopt a servant leadership style. The 2023 Captains read their Captain’s dedication to the College. These Captains are:

  • Nkosinathi Beda (Athletics Captain
  • Uchechukwu Ejike (Basketball Captain)
  • Thandoluhle Jadezweni (Basketball Vice Captain)
  • Jason Pengelley (Cricket Captain)
  • Simele Maye (Cricket Vice Captain)
  • Ashton Vieira (Golf Captain)
  • Reece Gordon (Hockey Captain)
  • Tristan Eley (Vice Hockey Captain)
  • Ethan Pritchard (Rowing Captain)
  • Mark Carreira (Vice Rowing Captain)
  • Sabelo Shangase (Rugby Captain)
  • Daniel Walsh (Vice Rugby Captain)
  • Luca Pereira (Soccer Captain)
  • Zak Grobler (Swimming Captain)
  • Michael Payne (Tennis Captain)
  • Declan Murphy (Water Polo Captain)
  • Reece Livingston (Head of Drama)
  • Alex Bezuidenhout (Head of Debating)
  • Nkululeko Thwala (Pipe Band Captain)
  • Angelo Bastos (Head of Music)
  • Uchechukwu Ejike (Head of Media Centre)

The 24 Leaders Inducted are;

  • Brandon Bam
  • Nkosinathi Beda
  • Troy Deyzel
  • Gift Dube
  • Uchechukwu Ejike
  • Tristan Eley
  • Reece Gordon
  • Dylan Ho
  • Thandoluhle Jadezweni
  • Nyiko Khoza
  • Daniel Koen
  • Simele Maye
  • Brogan McEwan
  • Michael Mundove
  • Declan Murphy
  • Marco Nizetich
  • Jason Pengelley
  • Ethan Pritchard
  • Sabelo Shangase
  • David Sibanda
  • Andrea Thomas
  • Nkululeko Thwala
  • Daniel Walsh
  • Troy Zillen

The Executive Leadership team are (from left to right):

Nkululeko Thwala (Head of Religion), Uchechukwu Ejike (Head of Allard House), Troy Zillen (Head of O’Leary House), Thandoluhle Jadezweni (Headboy), Declan Murphy (Head of Mazenod House), Brandon Bam (Head of Erasme House), Sabelo Shangase (Head of Boarding)

We have no doubt that our 2023 leaders will serve their school and their fellow students with humility, compassion and excellence. May all who experience their leadership see that they are “the light of the world”.